Joy Development
Joy Development Podcast
Having Faith
1
0:00
-1:26

Having Faith

Or, old adages stick around because they say something true
1

April brought feelings of uncertainty and doubt to the surface for me. I felt a bit unsure even as new shoots of future ways of working emerged. 

I found myself drawing on well-worn adages. I mean, I would much rather find solace and meaning in more weighty material, but I found sitting with ‘trust the process’ really useful. It does take a lot of faith and trust that going in the direction of your intuition and away from the known and habitual is a good thing. I’ve really been feeling the close relation of seemingly polar opposites: doubt and faith. 

In contrast, I found the simple pleasure of making my drawings, immersing myself in that process reminded me that it’s the regular practices that amount to generating insights, meaning; certainty. Funny how the process of transformation and change is really about staying with and taking pleasure in the tiny increments of progress. And so I’m reminded of another well-worn adage: ‘one step at a time’.

Share

1 Comment
Joy Development
Joy Development Podcast
Cultivating joy as a professional practice for creatives
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Allie Carr